alt-j have teamed up with a bunch of hip-hop artists to reimagine their latest album

The record features Danny Brown, Paigey Cakey, Rejjie Snow, Little Simz and more.

“It’s no secret that we love and are influenced by hip-hop.”

Nope, it’s not a text from your mate Darren who once listened to ‘RTJ2’ and suddenly thinks he’s ‘eclectic’, but rather the introduction to a sort-of-but-not-actually-new album from alt-j.

“It’s always been a dream of ours to work with hip-hop artists in re-imagining our music,” they continue, detailing ‘REDUXER’, a fresh take on the band’s most recent album ‘RELAXER’.

Described as ‘11 incredible reinterpretations of songs from their award-winning third album’, it features tracks ‘reimagined by a host of fans, friends and peers, including a globe-straddling cross-section of some of the world’s most influential and prolific hip-hop artists and producers’. ‘REDUXER’ is set for release on 28th September.

Those getting involved include Danny Brown, Paigey Cakey, GoldLink, Lomepal, Kontra K, Rejjie Snow, Tuka, PJ Sin Suela and Little Simz. It also includes the recently released take on ‘In Cold Blood, reworked by Twin Shadow and featuring Pusha T.

The tracklisting reads:

1. 3WW (feat. Little Simz) (OTG Version)
2. In Cold Blood (fest. Pusha T) (Twin Shadow Version)
3. House Of The Rising Sun (feat. Tuka) (Tuka Version)
4. Hit Me Like That Snare (Jimi Charles Moody version)
5. Deadcrush (feat. Danny Brown) (Alchemist x Trooko Version)
6. Adeline (feat. Paigey Cakey and Hex) (ADP Version)
7. Last Year (feat. GoldLink) (Terrace Martin Version)
8. Pleader (feat. PJ Sin Suela) (Trooko Version)
9. 3WW (feat. Lomepal) (Lomepal Version)
10. In Cold Blood (feat. Kontra K) (Kontra K Version)
11. Hit Me Like That Snare (feat. Rejjie Snow) (Rejjie Snow Version)

You can check out one of the new takes, Alchemist x Trooko‘s version of ‘Deadcrush‘, featuring Danny Brown, below.

The band are also set to head off on tour this October in support of the release. They’ll kick off in Dublin before playing dates in Glasgow, Leeds, Leicester, Gateshead and Manchester, finishing up at London’s famous Royal Albert Hall. Tickets for the run go on sale this Friday, 20th July.

Orlando Weeks has shared a new single, 'Good To See You'
Disclosure have shared a new track ahead of their imminent festival sets, 'She's Gone, Dance On'
Dolores Forever have announced their debut album, 'It's Nothing', with new single 'Go Fast Go Slow'