Angel Olsen has covered some 80s classics for a new EP

Feat. 'Forever Young' and more.

Angel Olsen has announced an 80s covers EP.

The release – titled the ‘Aisles’ EP – is due on 20th August, featuring new renditions of tracks by Billy Idol, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, Alphaville and more.

“I told [co-producer and engineer Adam McDaniel] I had an idea to record some covers and bring some of the band into the mix, or add other players,” she explains. “I needed to laugh and have fun and be a little less serious about the recording process in general.

“I thought about completely changing some of the songs and turning them inside out. I’d come over to find Adam had set up 5 or so synthesisers, and we’d get lost on a part for a while messing with some obscure pedal I knew nothing about. We’d spend a good amount of time going through sounds before finding one or two, sometimes we’d get real weird and decide to just go with it.”

The full tracklisting reads:

  1. Gloria
  2. Eyes Without A Face
  3. Safety Dance
  4. If You Leave
  5. Forever Young

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Peace offer up a five-star evening of rock star swagger in London
Empire State Bastard have released a new single, 'Stutter'
Tove Lo has shared her new single, 'I Like U'