Beabadoobee, Celeste and Joy Crookes are on the shortlist for the BRITs Rising Star award

The winner will be announced on 6th December.

The initial shortlist for the 2020 Rising Star prize at next year’s BRIT Awards has been announced.

Beabadoobee, Celeste and Joy Crookes have made the cut, which is changing its name from BRITs Critic’s Choice because – let’s be honest – who wants to hear from us critics, eh? We’re a nonsense.

The all-female shortlist will be reduced to one final victor on Friday, 6th December, who will join a past list of winners including Adele, Florence + The Machine, Sam Smith, Jorja Smith and Sam Fender.

Basically, it’s a ticket to ‘doing alright for yourself’.

“It’s suuuper cool to be nominated for the BRITs Rising Star award and I’m so grateful,” says Beabadoobee. “It’s so weird to think that writing music in my bedroom could appeal to so many people. Thank you so much to anyone who has voted for me!”

The BRIT Awards will take place on Tuesday, 18th February from the O2 in London.

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Fletcher has released a new single, 'Eras Of Us'
Chappell Roan at London's Heaven: Iconic behaviour from 2023’s breakout pop star
Tate McRae is a star: "I feel like I finally cracked the code"