Billie Marten’s new album ‘Feeding Seahorses By Hand’ will be released in April

Check out lead single ‘Betsy’ now.

Billie Marten has announced her new album, ‘Feeding Seahorses By Hand’.

Due on 26th April via Sony / Chess Club Records, the twelve-track record follows on from her 2016 debut ‘Writing of Blues and Yellows’, and will precede a headline tour that kicks off on 5th June. Check out lead single ‘Betsy’, which she wrote with long-time collaborator Rich Cooper, below.

“It was the first time I’d tried jamming with someone and had the pressure of writing instant, spontaneous lyrics,” she says. “They poured out actually, it’s about confronting a politician, no one in particular, but sort of ridiculing them. I liked the idea of using number 9 instead of 10. I didn’t want the big political stance, and I didn’t want to single out a specific human, it’s representing parliament as a whole institution really. The song turns the wise old politician into a child, infantilising them takes away their power. I think most people feel a bit unsafe with it all, because it’s impossible relate to these characters. No one shows any personal weakness or empathy, and if they do, they’ve already cracked.”

Billie Marten will play:

05 The Hare & Hounds, Birmingham
06 Poetry Club, Glasgow
08 The Sound House, Dublin
09 The Deaf Institute, Manchester
11 The Wardrobe, Leeds
12 The Exchange, Bristol
13 Islington Assembly Hall, London

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Peace offer up a five-star evening of rock star swagger in London
Empire State Bastard have released a new single, 'Stutter'
Tove Lo has shared her new single, 'I Like U'