Billy Nomates has released a new single, ‘spite’, from her upcoming album, ‘CACTI’

The full 12-track project set to arrive on January 13th via Invada Records.
Photo credit: nwspk

Billy Nomates has continued to reveal her upcoming second album, ‘CACTI’, with a new single, ‘spite’.

It is the fourth single from the project, following previous releases ‘blue bones (deathwish)’, ‘balance is gone’ and ‘saboteur forcefield’, with the full 12-track  project set to arrive on January 13th via Invada Records.

Nomates has stated that the song poses the question, “How are you going to deal with anything if you don’t have that self-belief?” The personal pep talk relies on synth and guitar-fuelled instrumentals and arrives with an nwspk-directed music video.

“Writing ‘CACTI’ took just over a year,” the songwriter recalls of the album process. “I wrote very intensely and then none at all. (This seems to be the way I work best). I picked up old drum machines, mapped out things in my kitchen with the same small micro keyboard I always use, and then raided the cupboards and rooms at Invada Studios, to play and experiment with old synths, an upright piano, this weird organ thing.”

“I hope everyone finds their own narrative in ‘CACTI’,” she adds. “I think it’s about surviving it all.”

You can listen to ‘spitehere, and watch the accompanying music video below:

You can pre-order ‘CACTI’ here – the full tracklisting reads as below:

1. intro i
2. balance is gone
3. black curtains in the bag
4. blue bones (deathwish)
6. saboteur forcefield
7. roundabout sadness
8. intro ii
9. spite
10. fawner
12. same gun
12. vertigo
13. apathy is wild
14. blackout signal

Billy Nomates is about to embark on a UK headline tour run – tickets are available here, with the full live dates as below:

22 London, Village Underground
23 Oxford, The Bullingdon
24 Cambridge, MASH
26 Norwich, Norwich Arts Centre
27 Sheffield, Leadmill
28 Stoke-on-Trent, Sugarmill
29 Liverpool, Arts Club

1 Bristol, Trinity
3 Falmouth, Cornish Bank

  • cover
    Dork Radio
glaive has released a new single, 'all i do is try my best'
The Japanese House has released a new song, 'One for sorrow, two for Joni Jones'
Gengahr have released a video for new album title-track, 'Red Sun Titans'