Cat Power is dropping a new album, ‘Covers’ – check out her takes on Frank Ocean and The Pogues

The full-length, due next January, will complete a "trilogy of sorts".

Cat Power has announced details of a new covers album, cunningly titled ‘Covers’.

Set to be released on 14th January 2022 via Domino, it comes following a performance of Frank Ocean’s ‘Bad Religion’ last night on The Late Late Show with James Corden. You can check that out, and hear Chan Marshall’s “personal favourite”, her take on The Pogues’ ‘A Pair Of Brown Eyes’, below.

“That song was bringing me down,” Chan explains, talking about her version of the Frank Ocean track. “So I started pulling out lyrics from ‘Bad Religion’ and singing those instead of getting super depressed. Performing covers is a very enjoyable way to do something that feels natural to me when it comes to making music.”

‘Covers’ will complete a “trilogy of sorts”, following-up on previous cover collections ‘Jukebox’ (2008) and ‘The Covers Record’ (2000).

The tracklisting for ‘Covers’ reads:

  1. Bad Religion – Frank Ocean
  2. Unhate – Cat Power – Chan Marshall
  3. Pa Pa Power – Dead Man’s Bones
  4. A Pair Of Brown Eyes – The Pogues
  5. Against the Wind – Bob Seger
  6. Endless Sea – Iggy Pop
  7. These Days – Jackson Browne
  8. It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels – Kitty Wells
  9. I Had A Dream Joe – Nick Cave
  10. Here Comes A Regular – The Replacements
  11. I’ll Be Seeing You – Billie Holiday
A day in the life of… Nieve Ella
It looks like a mysterious new project linked to SOPHIE may be being teased for next week
UPSAHL is starting a new era with 'Summer so hot'