CHVRCHES have announced a tenth anniversary debut album reissue, and dropped a previously unheard track

Check out 'Manhattan' now.

CHVRCHES are planning to celebrate the tenth anniversary of their debut album with a new reissue.

Set for release on 13th October, the extended edition of ‘The Bones Of What You Believe’ will be available as 1xLP clear vinyl, 2xLP black vinyl with die cut sleeve, 2xCD and Digital formats.

“It feels quite strange that Bones is almost a decade old,” says Lauren Mayberry. “In some ways, it’s like it just happened, but also like that era was a lifetime ago. We are very grateful to all the fans who gave that album a special place in their heart, and still show us so much kindness today.”

They’ve also shared ‘Manhattan’, the first in a series of previously unheard songs recorded during the making of the album.

Iain Cook says of the track: “In late Summer 2011, Martin and I got together after having talked about doing so for a few years and started throwing down some synth-based ideas in my studio on the south side of Glasgow. ‘Manhattan’ was the fourth idea we worked on together. It was the first time we messed around with sampling and chopping up our vocals which would go on to become one of the hallmarks of the band’s sound. Lyrically, we were playing around with pretty abstract apocalyptic imagery – in this case the Manhattan Project. This was right around the time we asked Lauren to come into the studio to try out some additional vocals.

“Manhattan was one of the first songs Iain and Martin played me and it immediately felt like an exciting thing to be involved in,” continues Mayberry. “It really showcased a lot of the traits that would eventually become synonymous with CHVRCHES and what our first album would end up sounding like. It’s fun to listen to it now, knowing everything that came along after it.”

Check out the new track below.

The reissue’s full tracklisting reads:

  1. The Mother We Share
  2. We Sink
  3. Gun
  4. Tether
  5. Lies
  6. Under The Tide
  7. Recover
  8. Night Sky
  9. Science/Visions
  10. Lungs
  11. By The Throat
  12. You Caught The Light
  13. Manhattan
  14. White Summer
  15. Talking In My Sleep
  16. City On Fire
  17. We Sink (Live)
  18. Now Is Not The Time (Live)
  19. Lies (Live)
  20. Strong Hand (Live)
  21. By The Throat (Live)
The May issue of Dork, featuring A. G. Cook, Djo, English Teacher, Luke Hemmings, WILLOW and more, is out now
Dua Lipa has released a new single inspired by knowing what you're getting into, 'Illusion'
Nell Mescal has released a new single about moving on, 'Yellow Dresser'