Circa Waves have announced their fourth studio album, and it’s a two-parter

The first will come in January, and the second in March.

Circa Waves have announced their fourth studio album.

‘Sad Happy’ is going to be shared in two parts: the first ‘happy’ side on 10th January, and the second ‘sad’ side on 13th March.

Talking about their second album in a year, the band explain: “We’ve been running round recording between festivals and touring to make our best album yet. We didn’t want to make you wait another year for a new record and can’t wait for you to hear these new tunes!!!”

Kieran adds: “We live in a world split into two extreme halves. One moment you’re filled with the existential crisis of climate doom and the next you’re distracted by another piece of inconsequential content that has you laughing aloud. I find this close proximity of immense sadness and happiness so jarring, bizarre and fascinating. Our brains rattle back and forth through emotions at such a rate that happiness and sadness no longer feel mutually exclusive. This idea was the blueprint for ‘Sad Happy’ and is the theme that underpins the album. Sad / Happy is written in my Liverpool home, it’s also hugely inspired by my surroundings and the love I have for the city. It runs through thoughts on mortality, love and observations of people.”

The track listing reads:

1. Jacqueline
2. Be Your Drug
3. Move to San Francisco
4. Wasted On You
5. The Things We Knew Last Night
6. Call Your Name
7. Love You More

8. Sad Happy
9. Wake Up Call
10. Sympathy
11. Battered & Bruised
12. Hope There’s a Heaven
13. Train to Lime Street
14. Birthday Cake

Check out lead track ‘Jacqueline’ below, and catch the band on tour next spring:

27 O2 Academy, Glasgow
28 Keele University SU, Keele
30 The Tramshed, Cardiff
31 O2 Academy, Leicester

02 The Waterfront, Norwich
03 O2 Academy Brixton, London
04 Liverpool Uni,Mountford Hall, Liverpool

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Peace offer up a five-star evening of rock star swagger in London
Empire State Bastard have released a new single, 'Stutter'
Tove Lo has shared her new single, 'I Like U'