Dead Nature’s debut album ‘Watch Me Break Apart’ is coming this June

The news arrives with his latest single 'Hurricane'.
Photo credit: Khalil Musa

Dead Nature, aka former Spring King-er Tarek Musa – has announced his debut solo album.

‘Watch Me Break Apart’ will be released on 25th June via Dead Nature Records, preceded by new single ‘Hurricane’.

“I’ve never been good at being overtly political,” he says of the song, “I don’t feel smart enough with words to express myself to the level some do, but the song for me was a nudge in that direction. It was a bit of a homage to Whole Wide World by Wreckless Eric, with its very brittle and simple guitar intro. It’s a little naïve in its delivery at times, tongue in cheek like the B52’s and full of energy with the edge of a late 70’s Clash song. Like a train picking up speed, I wanted to keep up the momentum of the message to the song and didn’t want many moments of respite.”

He continues: “I had only recently moved into my studio and had just finished working with Calva Louise on their EP. It was one evening when I text Jess (lead singer and guitarist) asking if she’d get the train to Liverpool to do some Backing Vocals. She has such a raw energy that matched the track so well and we put down her vocals in about 25 mins. You can also hear the scuzzy vocals of Joe Wills (producer for Stealing Sheep, Dan Croll and Mikael Paskalev) layered up too.”

The full album tracklisting reads:

  1. Watch Me Break Apart
  2. Hurricane
  3. 50 Foot Wall
  4. Borrowed Heart
  5. Falling Down
  6. Red Clouds
  7. Rivers
  8. Nothing Is Gonna Change
  9. Ladlands

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Atlanta mathcore band The Callous Daoboys have released a new EP teaser, 'Pushing The Pink Envelope'
Drug Store Romeos, Lucinda Chua and more have joined the line-up for London festival Mirrors
Bastille have released a video for their 'Pompeii' collaboration with composer Hans Zimmer