Deerhoof have a lot going on with Joyful Noise Recordings

Loads, in fact.
Deerhoof have been very, very busy. Joyful Noise Recordings have made them Artist in Residence for 2017, which means the band will put out a veritable truckload of releases on the label this year. The work is set to come out in three phases, with phase one available right now. It consists of two split EPs from various Deerhoof side projects, including the Deerhoof / Death Grips combo Nervous Cop. Phase one also features the second EP from Satomi Matsuzaki and Tenniscoats’ Saya’s collaboration Oneone.

Further down the line comes phase two (see how good we are at counting?), which will be Deerhoof’s next studio album. Last but not least, phase three will contain “two more split-LPs with four more projects”. Which projects? We’re not allowed to know yet. It’s part of the fun.

Towards the end of the year, all of the releases will be bundled up into a vinyl box set and sent out to the people who’ve managed to nab one. Believe it or not, those are already sold out. Fear not, though – you can still purchase the digital downloads and listen to all of the LPs that way.

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Atlanta mathcore band The Callous Daoboys have released a new EP teaser, 'Pushing The Pink Envelope'
Drug Store Romeos, Lucinda Chua and more have joined the line-up for London festival Mirrors
Bastille have released a video for their 'Pompeii' collaboration with composer Hans Zimmer