Empire of the Sun announce new album ‘Two Vines’

It's not the band The Vines played twice. Apparently.
Empire of the Sun have announced details of a new album.

‘Two Vines’ is set to follow up on their 2013 effort ‘Ice on the Dune’, and will be released on October 28th.

Recorded in Hawaii and Los Angeles, it was co-produced by Empire of the Sun and Peter Mayes (Sia, the Killers, Mika), and features contributions from Fleetwood Mac’s Lindsey Buckingham, Wendy Melvoin (from Prince’s band the Revolution), and pianist Henry Hey and bassist Tim Lefebvre, both of whom are members of David Bowie’s Blackstar band.

The band’s Lord Nick Littlemore explains: “There was an image we talked about very early on with this record, before we wrote the title track, ‘Two Vines,’ and that was this image of a modern city overtaken by jungle, almost like mother nature taking back the planet. He added, “All the buildings will turn back to sand. All it will be is nature again. We wanted to make something that reflected the beauty of that, and the wisdom that plants can give us about living harmoniously on this beautiful planet.”

Emperor Luke Steele adds: “Going to Hawaii to record was the best idea. That was the catalyst for me. I’d spend the morning surfing, then roll in and make music into the night.”

MJ Lenderman has announced a new album, 'Manning Fireworks'
Maren Morris enlists Julia Michaels for her new single, 'cut!'
Dayglow has announced a new self-titled album, shared new single 'Cocoon', and confirmed a North American tour