Field Music have announced a new album, ‘Making A New World’

You can check out a new track from it, 'Only In A Man's World', now.

Field Music have announced a new album.

Titled ‘Making A New World’, the band’s latest release is set to arrive on 10th January 2020 via Memphis Industries. 19 tracks in length, it’s concerned with the after-effects of the First World War.

A press release explains how the album grew from a project the band undertook for the Imperial War Museum and performed at sites in Salford and London in January 2019.

“We imagined the lines from that image continuing across the next hundred years,” says the band’s David Brewis, “and we looked for stories which tied back to specific events from the war or the immediate aftermath. In writing these songs, we felt we were pulling the war towards us — out of remembrance and into the everyday — into the now.”

That means they aren’t just songs about what’s you’d expect.

“I found myself looking at the history of sanitary pads,” David explains, speaking about first single from the record ‘Only In A Man’s World’. “It turns out the modern design was developed from a wartime surgical dressing. The advertising hasn’t changed much in a hundred years i.e. Hey Ladies! Let’s not mention it too loudly but here is the perfect product to keep you feeling normal WHILE THE DISGUSTING THING HAPPENS. It’s a kind of madness that a monthly occurrence for billions of women – something absolutely necessary for the survival of humanity – is seen as shameful or dirty – and is taxed MORE than razor blades?!

I kept asking myself, is it okay to write this? But I think confronting my own embarrassment is a pretty fundamental part of what the song is about.”

You can check out ‘Only In A Man’s World’ below.

Field Music will be performing ‘Making a New World’ in its entirety, with each song accompanied by visuals created by the band’s Kevin Dosdale. There will also be a bonus set of classics from the Field Music “oeuvre”.

The dates read:

9 Dundee, Neon at Night

01 Glasgow, Kelvingrove Art Gallery
21 Nottingham, Rescue Rooms
22 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
27 Whitley Bay, Playhouse
28 Manchester, Dancehouse
29 London, EartH

Been Stellar have shared a new taster from their upcoming debut album - check out 'Pumpkin'
Alfie Templeman has shared a new single inspired by starting a new chapter, 'Beckham'
Jack Garratt is going to release a new live album this summer