Gruff Rhys has announced his new album, ‘Babelsberg’

Check out his new track, ‘Frontier Man’.
Gruff Rhys will release a new album this summer.

Due on 8th June, the ten-track record follows on from 2014’s ‘American Interior’, and marks his first release for Rough Trade since 2007’s ‘Candylion’.

“I’d made a note of the name after driving past a sign when I was on tour in 2014,” he says of the album title. “Cut to a few years later and the studio where I recorded the album was being knocked down just a week after I finished to make way for a ‘luxury’ apartment development.

“I was looking for a name that evoked the Tower of Babel – people building towers to reach an idea of heaven (but maybe creating a kind of hell – I’m an atheist by the way!). In any case, I had written Babelsberg down and when I listened to the songs together, it finally made sense why I’d done that.”

Watch preview track, ‘Frontier Man’ below.

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Atlanta mathcore band The Callous Daoboys have released a new EP teaser, 'Pushing The Pink Envelope'
Drug Store Romeos, Lucinda Chua and more have joined the line-up for London festival Mirrors
Bastille have released a video for their 'Pompeii' collaboration with composer Hans Zimmer