half•alive have released a new single, ‘High Up’, from their upcoming second album, ‘Conditions Of A Punk’

The 18-track project will be share in full on December 2nd via RCA Records.
Photo Credit: Yulissa Benitez

half•alive have continued to reveal their second LP with a new single release, ‘High Up’.

The new track was released last Friday, Novemer 11th – it was co-produced with Ethan Gruska and follows last month’s lead single, ‘Did I Make you Up?’, with the full 18-track record set to arrive on December 2nd via RCA Records. ‘Conditions Of A Punk’ comes after their 2019 debut album, ‘Now, Not Yet’.

Lead singer Josh Taylor says, “‘High Up’ is a love song about killing the projected idea of love in exchange for what it actually is. Throughout the song I’m speaking to Love as a person as if it’s going to kill the current idea of what I thought Love to be: ‘behind your back a cold surprise in favor of the 3rd degree. I took a breath & took the knife, no I won’t defend the killer in me.’”

Taylor co-directed a music video accompaniment alongside Kevin Clark. “Within 10 minutes of first meeting each other, we already had the concept for the video,” he recalls. “Both of us felt drawn to the visual of a car driving through rain-soaked streets in the middle of LA. Like a downpour of emotion, flooding the streets of my mind, begging me to react to it…”

“Within 2 weeks we were on set watching a rain machine dump water on my 1980s Mercedes as 30 friends of mine run circles around it,” he continues. “Somehow I convinced them it would be a good time. Everyone got soaked. The film was accomplished. High fives & smiles all around.” 

You can listen to ‘High Uphere, and watch the music video below:

You can pre-order ‘Conditions Of A Punk’ here. The tracklist is currently unconfirmed.

half•alive are touring the UK & in early 2023 – tickets are available here, with dates as below:

16 Birmingham, Academy 2
18 Dublin, The Academy
20 Glasgow, SWG3
21 Manchester, Academy 2
23 Amsterdam, Melkweg
24 Paris, Trabendo
26 Antwerpen, Zappa
28 Cologne, Die Kantine

1 Berlin, Kesselhaus
2 Warsaw, Proxima
4 Prague, Meetfactory
5 Vienna, Simm City
6 Munchen, Technikum
8 Milano, Santeria Toscana 31
11 Hamburg, Uebel & Gefahrlich
12 Kobenhavn, Vega
14 Stockholm, Debaser Hornstulls Strand
15 Oslo, Parkteatret Scene

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Emily Burns celebrates love with her brand new single, 'Balcony Floor'
Honesty have released a new double A-side single, 'U&I' / 'Tune In Tune Out'
Sum 41 have signed to Rise Records and dropped a new single