Here’s another new ‘un from Speedy Ortiz’s upcoming album

Check out ‘Lean In When I Suffer’.
Speedy Ortiz have shared another new song from their upcoming album, called ‘Lean In When I Suffer’.

They’re going to release ‘Twerp Verse’ – the follow-up to 2015’s ‘Foil Deer’, and Sadie Dupuis’ debut solo album ‘Sad13’ – on 27th April via Carpark Records.

“‘Lean In When I Suffer’ is about that fun breed of “ally” who wears out their already exhausted friends by relying on us for excessive emotional labor,” says Sadie. “They want props for their wokeness, but don’t want to put in any actual work or divest themselves of power. They just taaaake uuuup spaaaace, and shut down when you try to talk them through their problematic tendencies. Because #selfcare? So you’re stuck in a toxic vampiric loop trying to maintain a relationship–Lean In AND Suffer, why don’t you!

“Director Ari Ratner took this concept a step further to address another annoyance we found relatable as hell, which is when “people give unsolicited advice about how to beat depression. [They] typically fail to acknowledge depression as a real illness and often minimize the experiences of the person they are trying to help.” So our OK-to-Cry-Corral band gets put through happiness bootcamp from a group of clowns who’ve “never been sad” (and some accompanying Crayola-bright illustrations from Julia Emiliani).

“Ultimately, playing angry rock songs is our favorite form of therapy.

“(And also, real therapy. That shit works.)”

Watch ‘Lean In When I Suffer’ below.

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Paris Texas have released a new 35-minute live performance and interview video, 'Live From Mars'
beabadoobee has released a new album, 'Live In London', recorded at Brixton Academy
Olivia Dean has released a new EP, 'Ladies Room'