Holy Fuck are back with new single ‘Luxe’ (ft. Alexis Taylor), and a couple of UK dates

They'll play London and Manchester in October.

Holy Fuck are back with new single ‘Luxe (Feat. Alexis Taylor)’.

The Canadian group’s first new music in three years, the song started life as a spontaneous jam session as the encore at a Luxembourg show.

“Among more literal translations, Luxe is the short form of Luxembourg – the city in which the nexus of the song was created,” the explain. “During our European tour supporting our ‘Bird Brains’ EP, we discussed how the band had drifted away from doing more experimentation on stage, how we missed creating something new, from scratch, in front of an audience. On this particular night during soundcheck we had a pulsing minimal synth loop we’d been tinkering around with (we were listening to lots of TRAX Records stuff on that tour). We decided if we got an encore we’d go for it. ‘Luxe’ was the result, or at least the MP3 we had recorded at the sound board, then called ‘Luxembourg Encore’, was the result.

“Once home from tour we took the demo back to the drawing board and made a proper song from its initial form and idea. However, before we got that far, somewhere around checking out of the first studio, while still referencing our ever growing folder of sound check ideas, we shared everything with our friend Kieran Hedben aka Four Tet. His always-intuitive advice was to ‘push away’ from some of the ‘very indie rock sounds’ and that his ‘favourite thing here is Luxembourg Encore… There are so many cool moments… It could be a good club track’.

“The next moment of discovery came when Graham suggested the band scrap Brian’s vocals and to give it to Alexis Taylor of Hot Chip. When we presented Alexis with the concept, our reference notes to him, based around Brian’s temporary vocals, were ‘like an old sample you’d dig up off an old folk record… and approached more like a classic house track’. He responded ‘we could try to record the vocal in a Voice O Graph booth (an obsolete 1940s coin operated phonograph booth) if we can access one…’. As far as we’re aware, there are only 2 in the world – one in Liverpool (that apparently doesn’t work anymore) and the other in Third Man studio in Nashville, where he sang ‘I’d like to scrap all of this and start over again.’ Fittingly it was New Year’s Eve.

“Thankfully all these steps never veered from the original path set out on stage in Luxembourg. Everyone’s commitment to the song, everyone’s input, proved the importance of a collaborative process and reinforced the notion that good things come from daring experimentation.”

The band have also confirmed a few low-key dates for October; check out ‘Luxe (Feat. Alexis Taylor)’ below, and find the tour details after the jump.

Holy Fuck will play:

19 Boston, MA || Royale
10 Montreal, QC || MTELUS
12 Toronto, ON || Phoneix Concert Theatre
13 Chicago, IL || Riviera Theatre
14 Minneapolis, MN || First Avenue
17 Vancouver, BC || Vogue Theatre
18 Seattle, WA || The Showbox
19 Seattle, WA || The Showbox
20 Portland, PR || Roseland Theatre
24 Santa Cruz, CA || The Catalyst
25 Oakland, CA || Fox Theatre
27 Los Angeles, CA || Shrine Expo Hall

20 Berlin, DE || Maschinehaus
21 Amsterdam, NL || Paradiso
22 Paris || Espace B
23 London, UK || Moth Club
24 Manchester, UK || YES

  • cover
    Dork Radio
The Aces: "For the first time, The Aces are fully an open book"
Thomas Headon has announced a new EP, and some UK & EU tour dates
Peace offer up a five-star evening of rock star swagger in London