Hot Chip have announced their new album, ‘Freakout/Release’

Check out a first taster from the record, opening track 'Down'.

Hot Chip have announced their new album, ‘Freakout/Release’.

The album is due for release on 19th August via Domino, and comes alongside a first taster from the record, opening track ‘Down’.

The first song the band worked on for the record, it’s based around a sample of Universal Togetherness band’s ‘More Than Enough’, and comes alongside a video directed by Douglas Hart and Steve Mackey.

Recorded at the band’s new Relax & Enjoy studio in East London, the album was particularly inspired by a cover of Beastie Boys’ ‘Sabotage’ that has become a staple of their live set. “The idea of being out of control is always there in dance music, in a positive sense,” Al Doyle explains.

“By the time we were able to be back together, we were turning on a tap and having a lot of ideas being poured out quite quickly” reveals Alexis Taylor.

Hot Chip will celebrate the album with a four night stand at London’s Brixton Academy between 21st and 24th September. General sale tickets will be available from 22nd April at 9am, with a pre-sale starting the day before for those that pre-order the album.

The tracklisting for ‘Freakout/Release’ reads:

  1. Down
  2. Eleanor
  3. Freakout/Release
  4. Broken
  5. Not Alone
  6. Hard To Be Funky feat. Lou Hayter
  7. Time
  8. Miss The Bliss
  9. The Evil That Men Do feat. Cadence Weapon
  10. Guilty
  11. Out Of My Depth

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Paris Texas have released a new 35-minute live performance and interview video, 'Live From Mars'
beabadoobee has released a new album, 'Live In London', recorded at Brixton Academy
Olivia Dean has released a new EP, 'Ladies Room'