Jake Shears’ debut solo album has been confirmed for August

Scissor Sisters' frontman Shears also has some live dates coming up.
Scissor Sisters’ frontman Jake Shears has announced his new album for the summer.

The news follows the release of his new track ‘Creep City’ late last year, plus some headline dates that will run from 15th August.

Speaking of his self-titled record, due on 10th August, he says:

“I created the record that I wanted to hear, that I felt had been missing from my life. It took time, was handcrafted and is something that no one else could have made. These songs were cooked low and slow in the South, in Kentucky and New Orleans, with humor, heartbreak and horns.

“If it sounds expensive, that’s because it was. This is the sound of actual human beings, playing real instruments onto tape. It took two years to make and for months I slept in the studio, behind the old upright piano.

“Whenever I had any self-doubt, I reminded myself— this is exactly how all of my favorite records were made, with fingerprints, sweat and honesty. It’s a record about finding yourself, again.”

He’ll perform four dates in London, Brighton, Sheffield and Liverpool. The details are:


15 Scala, London

16 Concorde 2, Brighton

19 The Leadmill, Sheffield

21 Arts Club, Liverpool

Scissor Sisters last released an album in 2012.

Check out ‘Creep City’ below.

  • cover
    Dork Radio
glaive has released a new single, 'all i do is try my best'
The Japanese House has released a new song, 'One for sorrow, two for Joni Jones'
Gengahr have released a video for new album title-track, 'Red Sun Titans'