Japanese Breakfast is dropping the bops with the brilliant ‘Be Sweet’, and there’s a new album ‘Jubilee’ coming too

The clipped, 80s pop gem heralds the arrival of a third album, set for release this June.
Japanese Breakfast
Photo credit: Peter Ash

Japanese Breakfast is back with news of a brand new album, and what we’re already calling One Of The Songs Of The Year So Far.

Hyperbole? Us? Always, Dear Reader.

‘Be Sweet’ – a shiny, sharp, refreshingly lemony bop – is Michelle Zauner unbound, cast through the prism of clipped, 80s pop brilliance. She explains: “After spending the last five years writing about grief, I wanted our follow up to be about joy. For me, a third record should feel bombastic and so I wanted to pull out all the stops for this one. I wrote ‘Be Sweet’ with Jack Tatum from Wild Nothing a few years ago. I’ve been holding onto it for so long and am so excited to finally put it out there.”

Arriving alongside a self-directed, X-files-esque video co-starring Mannequin Pussy‘s Marisa Dabice, it’s the first taster of that previously mentioned third album, ‘Jubilee’.

Set for release on 4th June via Dead Oceans, it follows up on 2017’s critically acclaimed ‘Soft Sounds From Another Planet’. “I’ve never wanted to rest on any laurels,” she explains I wanted to push it as far as it could go, inviting more people in and pushing myself as a composer, a producer, an arranger.”

You can check out the video for ‘Be Sweet’ below.

The tracklisting for ‘Jubilee’ reads:

  1. Paprika
  2. Be Sweet
  3. Kokomo, IN
  4. Slide Tackle
  5. Posing in Bondage
  6. Sit
  7. Savage Good Boy
  8. In Hell
  9. Tactics
  10. Posing for Cars

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Palace have announced a new EP, 'Part II - Nightmares & Ice Cream'
The Gaslight Anthem have released a new single, and announced UK live shows that include headlining 2000trees
Mary In The Junkyard yearn for chaos with their debut single, 'Tuesday'