Katy J Pearson has shared ‘Float’, a new preview of her forthcoming album ‘Sound Of The Morning’

The full-length is set to arrive next month.

Katy J Pearson has shared a new single, ‘Float’.

The latest taster of forthcoming album ‘Sound of the Morning’, it follows on from previous previews ‘Talk Over Town’, ‘Alligator’ and ‘Game of Cards’.

Featuring black midi’s Morgan Simpson on drums, and co-written with Pet Shimmers frontman Oliver Wilde, you can check it out below.

“I wrote this track with Oliver Wilde, a founding member of the excellent Pet Shimmers – he’s been at the centre of the Bristol music community for several years,” Katy explains. “For the new album, I wanted to collaborate with some of my peers that I admire, so I jammed with Oli for a few weeks – he’d come round with his laptop and interface and we’d write songs together. ‘Float’ is one of the tracks that came out of those writing sessions and as soon as we wrote it I knew that it had to be on the record; it was one of my favourites to write and I love it. It has such an atmosphere and I think you can really feel the emotion and pain of the song; it’s about life experiences and all the things that lead up to certain moments. It’s quite nostalgic and given the past two years we have had, references wondering about when things will become more stable again.”

“Sound of the Morning’ is set to land on 8th July, via Heavenly Recordings.

The May issue of Dork, featuring A. G. Cook, Djo, English Teacher, Luke Hemmings, WILLOW and more, is out now
Dua Lipa has released a new single inspired by knowing what you're getting into, 'Illusion'
Nell Mescal has released a new single about moving on, 'Yellow Dresser'