Katy J Pearson shares new track, ‘Alligator’

It will feature on her upcoming album, 'Sound of the Morning'.

Katy J Pearson has shared another preview from her upcoming album, ‘Alligator’. Her record, ‘Sound of the Morning’ is slated for release on 8th July.

It follows recent singles ‘Talk Over Town’ and ‘Game Of Cards’. Katy has also shared an accompanying video for ‘Alligator’, featuring actor Paul McGann.

Talking about the track Katy said: “I wrote this track with Dan Carey at his Streatham studio. The day we did so I was having the worst morning ever; I was really stressed as I had a £500 electric bill that I had to pay. I burst into tears at the studio and from that feeling, the song just surfaced from all my anxieties. The lyrics are quite literal and were born from the idea of dissociation when experiencing anxiety. The chorus note ‘it felt just like a dream, and it keeps on happening’ refers to when you are really stressed, things just don’t seem real. There is this juxtaposition between the lyrics and the soaring chorus which is quite euphoric – it’s quite tongue in cheek and I like that about it. Dan played the bass on this track and Yuri from the band Honeyglaze played drums which really gives the track some gusto!”

Check out ‘Alligator’ here:

Katy also has a September tour booked, catch her live at the following:

08 Trinity – BRISTOL
09 Cornish Bank – FALMOUTH
10 Cavern – EXETER
11 Joiners – SOUTHAMPTON
13 Chalk – BRIGHTON
14 Olby’s – MARGATE
15 Electric Ballroom – LONDON
17 Brudenell Social Club – LEEDS
18 The Cluny – NEWCASTLE
20 Voodoo Rooms – EDINBURGH
21 Mono – GLASGOW
22 Gorilla – MANCHESTER
24 Float Along – SHEFFIELD
25 Rescue Rooms – NOTTINGHAM
27 Clwb Ifor Bach – CARDIFF
28 Hare & Hounds – BIRMINGHAM
30 The Bullingdon – OXFORD

  • cover
    Dork Radio
IDLES have extended their huge world tour with new UK shows
Slam Dunk has confirmed its second batch of names for 2024, including State Champs, Against The Current and more
Future Islands have shared another new album cut, 'The Fight'