Krush Puppies have announced their debut EP, ‘Love Kills The Demons’ – check out the title track

The band have signed to Sports Team's Holm Front Records for the release.

Krush Puppies have announced the details for their debut EP, ‘Love Kills The Demons’.

Set to arrive on 6th May, it comes alongside the news they’ve signed with Sports Team‘s Holm Front Records, and the release of the collection’s title track.

Written about vocalist and bassist Alexa Daly’s night terrors, she explains: “This faceless shadowy figure would sit at the end of the bed and wake me by pushing on my chest so that I was gasping for air. I used to be up all night, then I met someone and suddenly I started sleeping all the way through, soundly next to him. I guess I suddenly felt safe, which feels very soppy now I’m having to write it down. But I can’t describe this overwhelming sense of peace that I felt almost instantly. I came into the studio with the chords and melody, then we all finished it that day. A few weeks later we recorded it with John Bisset, and Jenny and I sang the whole song together in unison, so our voices kind of blended to make one. It almost sounds like a whole new band member.”

It comes with a video based on guitarist and vocalist Jenny Wells’ mum’s adult baptism, made on a budget of about £30. She explains: “We filmed everything ourselves at Heather’s (our drummer) house and used mainly a head torch as our sole light source. It was quite funny, Heather had just moved in and we turned up to her front door, where she was meeting her neighbour for the first time, dressed head to toe in christian gear, adorning a giant homemade crucifix.”.

Mixing fuzzy melody with a shot of flute and a whole heap of potential to come, you can check out ‘Love Kills The Demons’ below.

On the signing, Holm Front’s hot shot label exec Henry Young says: “From the moment we hit play on Love Kills The Demons, it was clear this wasn’t your typical demo submission. Morricone-esque flute meets a wall of fuzz-laden guitar across four tracks unlike anything else in the game right now. Very excited here at Holm Front to be releasing the EP – a major step-up in recorded output from a band already turning heads for their live show in the capital.”

The tracklisting for Krush Puppies’ ‘Love Kills The Demons’ EP reads:

  1. Throw Me On The Fire
  2. Love Kills The Demons
  3. Why
  4. Everybody Wants To Be A Cowboy

You can pre-order a copy here.

  • cover
    Dork Radio
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard have announced a new album with two versions, and a headline set at Wide Awake
Squid have extended their UK tour with a few more shows
Palace have announced a new EP, 'Part II - Nightmares & Ice Cream'