L’objectif have shared a brand new single, ‘The Dance You Sell’

The track has arrived via Chess Club Records.

L’objectif have released their newest single, ‘The Dance You Sell’, alongside a music video accompaniment.

The track is the Leeds-based teenage quartet’s first release since their second EP, ‘We Aren’t Getting Out But Tonight We Might’, which dropped in June.

On ‘The Dance You Sell’, frontman Saul Kane comments: “I noticed that some people, including myself, can desire for a past that didn’t serve them at all. It’s like a yearning for a place of comfort but that comfort can depress you. This is something I’m learning and I guess you can see it in the narrative of the song, going from words of passion and love to just a general distaste.” 

“You convince yourself you need to be ‘stuck’ in this place, even though you feel completely different to how you used to,” he continues. “It’s this comfort we find in dullness that sometimes stops people from moving forward.”

The track is accompanied by a music video directed by Ricky Allen, who also stars as a trainee car salesman. “It was a different experience from the other videos we had filmed,” Saul recalls of the shoot. “I had to act for the first time in a music video so that was fun as I’ve always been into that. It was just an interesting day because I had no idea how it was all going to link up at the end but nonetheless, that added to the entertainment of filming it. We also got to play our first gig in a car dealership, probably won’t get to do that again.”

You can listen to ‘The Dance You Sellhere, and check out the music video below:

L’objectif will be supporting Alfie Templeman on his UK tour, with the band’s full live dates reading as below:

1 Manchester, Neighbourhood Festival
17 Edinburgh, La Belle Angele *
18 Liverpool, 02 Academy *
20 Leeds, Leeds Beckett Students’ Union *
21 Newcastle, Newcastle University *
22 Cardiff, SWN Festival
23 Norwich, The Waterfront *
24 Cambridge, Cambridge Junction *
26 Bristol, SWX *
27 Cardiff, Tramshed *
28 Southampton, Engine Rooms *
29 Manchester, Moodswings, YES *
31 London, HERE at Outernet *

5 Porto, M.OU CO
18 Paris, Pitchfork Music Festival
26 Sheffield, Crosstown Sounds

*supporting Alfie Templeman

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Paris Texas have released a new 35-minute live performance and interview video, 'Live From Mars'
beabadoobee has released a new album, 'Live In London', recorded at Brixton Academy
Olivia Dean has released a new EP, 'Ladies Room'