Mitski has announced her album ‘Laurel Hell’ with new teaser-track, ‘The Only Heartbreaker’

Her new full-length is coming early next year.
Photo Credit: Ebru Yildiz

Mitski has announced her new album, ‘Laurel Hell’.

Set for release on 4th February via Dead Oceans, the news arrives alongside new single ‘The Only Heartbreaker’, and ahead of her sold-out UK tour booked in for next spring.

The new track depicts “the person always messing up in the relationship, the designated Bad Guy who gets the blame,” she explains. “It could simply be about that, but I also wanted to depict something sadder beneath the surface, that maybe the reason you’re always the one making mistakes is because you’re the only one trying.”

It’s accompanied by a video co-directed by Maegan Houang and Jeff Desom; Houang comments: “The worst pain I’ve experienced is when I’ve fully understood the pain I’ve caused another. It’s one of the hardest parts of being human, that no matter our intentions, we’ll inevitably do something hurtful to our fellow man, if not someone we love.  In this case, the harm Mitski enacts in the video is to the world.  It’s unstoppable and destructive, but worst of all, she doesn’t even want it to happen.  She’s a stand-in for humanity as we collectively do so little to save ourselves and our planet.”

Check out ‘The Only Heartbreaker’ below; the album’s full tracklisting reads:

  1. Valentine, Texas
  2. Working for the Knife
  3. Stay Soft
  4. Everyone
  5. Heat Lightning
  6. The Only Heartbreaker
  7. Love Me More
  8. There’s Nothing Left For You
  9. Should’ve Been Me
  10. I Guess
  11. That’s Our Lamp
The May issue of Dork, featuring A. G. Cook, Djo, English Teacher, Luke Hemmings, WILLOW and more, is out now
Dua Lipa has released a new single inspired by knowing what you're getting into, 'Illusion'
Nell Mescal has released a new single about moving on, 'Yellow Dresser'