Mitski has announced a brand new album, ‘Be The Cowboy’

There's a new track, 'Geyser', too.
Mitski has announced a new album, set for release later this summer.

Titled ‘Be The Cowboy’, the follow up to the critically lauded ‘Puberty 2’ is set to arrive on 17th August via Dead Oceans.

“For this new record, I experimented in narrative and fiction,” explains Mitski, revealing she had in mind “a very controlled icy repressed woman who is starting to unravel. Because women have so little power and showing emotion is seen as weakness, this ‘character’ clings to any amount of control she can get. Still, there is something very primordial in her that is trying to find a way to get out.”

I had been on the road for a long time, which is so isolating, and had to run my own business at the same time. A lot of this record was me not having any feelings, being completely spent but then trying to rally myself and wake up and get back to Mitski.”

The news comes alongside a new track and video, ‘Geyser’. You can check out the Zia Anger directed clip below.

Mitski is set to return to the UK and Ireland this autumn, with dates in Manchester, Glasgow, Dublin, Leeds, Bristol and London.

The dates read:

19 Manchester Orilla

20 Glasgow Saint Luke’s

22 Dublin Tivoli Theatre

24 Leeds Brudenell Social Club

25 Bristol Trinity Arts Centre

26 London O2 Shepherds Bush Empire

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Paris Texas have released a new 35-minute live performance and interview video, 'Live From Mars'
beabadoobee has released a new album, 'Live In London', recorded at Brixton Academy
Olivia Dean has released a new EP, 'Ladies Room'