Miya Folick has shared ‘Mommy’, a song about “heritage, memory and family”

Her upcoming album 'Roach' is coming in May.

Miya Folick has dropped a new track, ‘Mommy’.

It’s the latest cut from her not-long-announced, highly-anticipated album, ‘Roach’. Set to be released on 26th May via Nettwerk Records, she’s already shared lead single ‘Get Out of My House’.

“‘Mommy is maybe the most intimate song on my record,” she explains. “It’s about heritage, memory, and family. I think there’s an ache in the song that exposes the gap between my limited understanding of my parents and the full richness of their lives. The first time I played this song live was at The Echo in Los Angeles, and my mom showed up—not joking—with a jar of honey for me, to soothe my throat (you’ll understand this anecdote when you listen to the song).”

She further describes the full-length as “an album about trying to get to the core of what life really is. I think over the course of writing this record, I actually did the work and got closer to the person that I really want to be, even if that path isn’t linear and I still have moments where I disappoint myself, where I’m angry with myself.”

The album’s full tracklisting reads:

1. Oh God
2. Bad Thing
3. Get Out Of My House
4. Nothing To See
5. Drugs or People
6. Mommy
7. 2007
8. Cockroach
9. Tetherball
10. Cartoon Clouds
11. So Clear
12. Ordinary
13. Shortstop

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Paris Texas have released a new 35-minute live performance and interview video, 'Live From Mars'
beabadoobee has released a new album, 'Live In London', recorded at Brixton Academy
Olivia Dean has released a new EP, 'Ladies Room'