Phoebe Green has announced her debut album for August

She's shared title-track 'Lucky Me', too.
Photo credit: Lewis Vorn

Phoebe Green has announced her debut album.

‘Lucky Me’ is set for release on 19th August via Chess Club Records, with the news arriving alongside the title-track and details of a headline tour.

Speaking about single, Phoebe explains: “‘Lucky Me’ explores the idea of disguising self-destructive behavioural patterns due to a feeling of guilt for living a seemingly easy life. I’m very lucky in so many ways that I almost feel ungrateful for still experiencing such difficulties with my mental state. I frantically search for a trivial, tangible cause of distress so that I don’t have to dig too deep or accept that I might just be a bit mentally fucked, then altogether silence myself when I imagine how others may be perceiving me and my actions. The song represents the common defence mechanism of invalidating and dismissing my emotions before anyone else can.”

She continues: “I wanted ‘Lucky Me’ to be the title track of the album as this is very much a running theme throughout; analysing and dissecting my experiences and emotions as opposed to feeling them, as they feel easier to digest that way. The title almost feels sarcastic and snarky depending on which way you look at it, and as I use humour to cope a lot of the time it does seem fitting. But I am actually extremely lucky to still be here so there is some sincerity in there somewhere.”

Of the video, she adds: “Filming the video was one of the most exciting things I think I’ve ever done. Piers is an absolute dream to work with; our visions for the song and the way it was to be represented visually were so aligned, it evoked the same feelings and mental imagery in both of us which was so validating for me, as the song can be a bit tricky for me to explain. It was so cathartic to explore two sides of myself in the video – the jaw-clenched, guarded persona strapped to the wheel versus the snarling, teasing knife thrower. I’m so pleased with how it’s turned out, it portrays the sentiment of the song perfectly.”

The album’s tracklisting reads:

  1. Break My Heart
  2. Lucky Me
  3. Make it Easy
  4. Crying In The Club
  5. Sweat
  6. Clean
  7. Just A Game
  8. One You Want
  9. Won’t Sit Still
  10. DieDieDie
  11. I Wish You Never Saw Me Cry
  12. Leach
  13. I Don’t Wanna Make You Cold

Check out the new track below, and Phoebe’s tour dates after the jump.

Phoebe Green will play:

14 The Great Escape, Brighton

21 Truck Festival, Steventon

16 Grand Social, Dublin
18 Broadcast, Glasgow
19 Mash House, Edinburgh
20 Key Club, Leeds
22 Omeara, London
23 Bodega, Nottingham
24 Louisiana, Bristol
26 Yes Pink Room, Manchester
28 The Cluny, Newcastle
30 Bootleg Social, Blackpool

1 Leaf, Liverpool
3 Green Door Store, Brighton
4 Joiners, Southampton

Picture imperfect: Nxdia channels a toxic situationship through a cinematic frame with her new single, 'Jennifer's Body'
Jorja Smith has announced a new album of reworkings, 'falling or flying (reimagined)'
HONNE celebrate beginnings with their new single, 'Imaginary'