Phoenix have announced a new album, and teamed up with Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Koenig for a lead single ‘Tonight’

It's the first time the band have collaborated with a guest vocalist.
Photo credit: Shervin Lainez

Phoenix have announced their new album, ‘Alpha Zulu’.

Set for release on 4th November, the news arrives alongside new single ‘Tonight’, which features Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Koenig – the first time the band have used a guest vocalist. The video, directed by Oscar Boyson, was shot in Tokyo and Paris (partly in the band’s own studio in Musée des Arts Décoratifs).

“I was a bit afraid, when there was too much beauty around us, that to create something could be a bit hard,” Christian Mazzalai (guitars) says of their studio time. “But it was the opposite: we couldn’t stop producing music. In these first 10 days, we wrote almost all of the album.”

Check out the new single below; the record’s full tracklisting reads:

  1. Alpha Zulu
  2. Tonight feat. Ezra Koenig
  3. The Only One
  4. After Midnight
  5. Winter Solstice
  6. Season 2
  7. Artefact
  8. All Eyes On Me
  9. My Elixir
  10. Identical

The band also have some UK/EU tour dates coming up:

16 – London, UK – Brixton Academy
18 – Milan, IT – Alcatraz Club
20 – Berlin, DE – Columbiahalle
22 – Brussels, BE – Ancienne Belgique
23 – Brussels, BE – Ancienne Belgique
25 – Amsterdam, NL – Paradiso
26 – Amsterdam, NL – Paradiso (sold out)
28 – Paris, FR – Olympia (sold out)
29 – Paris, FR – Olympia (sold out)

  • cover
    Dork Radio
It looks like Matty Healy will be supporting his own band, The 1975, in Dublin tonight
Reneé Rapp has announced a new single, and her debut album, 'Snow Angel'
Lovejoy have upgraded venues on their sold out UK tour