Pleasure House offer a message of hope with new track ‘Calm’

"I wrote ‘Calm’ as a protest song," says frontman Alex Heffernan.
Birmingham quartet Pleasure House have debuted their new track ‘Calm’ – have a listen below, first on Dork. It’s the lead track from upcoming EP ‘Sentient’, out on 26th May, and sees frontman Alex Heffernan with a lot to say.

“I’d been feeling increasingly disaffected, like many others’ guilty of scrolling through torrents of hateful rhetoric and petty politics that add to the fragile disparity within our society, creating a war amongst ourselves,” he explains.

“I wrote ‘Calm’ as a protest song against this. It’s what I feel myself screaming at my screen, constantly exposed to a carefully calculated war on peace, feeling angry and afraid and helpless all at the same time.

“I wanted to write a song with a message of hope. A message of positivity and resistance that would resonate with everyone who feels disaffected too, because it feels like there’s conscious change in the air, and we should never allow fear to forget who our real enemy is.”

The band are off on tour later this spring, following a set at Handmade Festival in Leicester on 28th April, which they play alongside Cabbage, Superfood, Shame, Life, Willie J Healey, Get Inuit, Twin Atlantic and loads more. For all the info, visit

Catch Pleasure House live:


28 Handmade Festival, Leicester


11 The Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham

14 Sneaky Pete’s, Edinburgh

15 Broadcast, Glasgow

24 Esquires, Bedford

25 Marrs Bar, Worcester

26 The Garibaldi Hotel, Northampton

27 Verve Bar, Leeds


01 The Garage, London

02 Jimmy’s NQ, Manchester

03 The Rocking Chair, Sheffield

10 The Shed, Leicester

13 The Hope & Ruin, Brighton

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Paris Texas have released a new 35-minute live performance and interview video, 'Live From Mars'
beabadoobee has released a new album, 'Live In London', recorded at Brixton Academy
Olivia Dean has released a new EP, 'Ladies Room'