PUP are on the short list for this year’s Polaris Music Prize

The winner will be crowned on 16th September.

The shortlist for the 2019 Polaris Music Prize has been announced.

The Canadian equivalent of the UK’s annual Mercury Prize, the award will go to the best album by a Canadian artist released between 1st June, 2018 and 31st May, 2019.

The long list featured 40 nominees, which has now been whittled down to ten, with the gala then crowning the winner on 16th September.

The nominees still up for the gong are:

Marie Davidson – Working Class Woman
Elisapie – The Ballad of the Runaway Girl
FET.NAT – Le Mal
Dominique Fils-Aimé – Stay Tuned!
Les Louanges – La nuit est une panthère
Haviah Mighty – 13th Floor
PUP – Morbid Stuff
Jessie Reyez – Being Human in Public
Shad – A Short Story About a War
Snotty Nose Rez Kids – Trapline

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Wet Leg are on the 'Chaise Longue' at BBC Radio 1's Big Weekend - watch
Enola Gay brought the noise to Live At Leeds In The Park - photos
Watch Self Esteem do this all the time at BBC Radio 1's Big Weekend