Sampa The Great has announced her new album with teaser-track ‘Never Forget’

The album's coming in September.

Sampa The Great has announced her new album ‘As Above, So Below’, due on 9th September.

The follow-up to debut ‘The Return’, the news arrives alongside new single ‘Never Forget’ and details of a European tour for later this year.

“’Never Forget’ is an ode to Zamrock music,” she explains, “a genre born in the 70’s combining traditional Zambian music and psychedelic rock. In particular, the song focuses on kalindula music. This tribute was inspired by the band WITCH and their lead singer Mr Jagari Chanda, who has become one of my musical mentors. I discovered Zamrock later in my life and was surprised that this music was known globally, yet not fully celebrated and acknowledged in Zambia today. It hit home for me as I felt similarities in my own journey, having had my career take off outside my birth country. I thought it was fitting to pay homage to those who came before me and merge past, present and future through music and imagery; passing the baton from one generation to the next. The archival footage in the clip includes the late great Paul Ngozi, the late president Kenneth Kaunda (Zambia’s first president) and the legendary WITCH.”

Check out the new single below, and catch Sampa live at the following:

12 Gorilla – Manchester, UK
15 Koko – London, UK
16 Tranbendo – Paris, France
19 Sala El Sol – Madrid, Spain
20 TBA – Barcelona, Spain
22 Le Grand Mix – Tourcoing, France
24 Bird – Rotterdam, Netherlands
25 Trix – Antwerp, Belgium
26 Melkweg – Amsterdam, Netherlands
28 Die Kantine – Cologne, Germany
30 Uebel & Gefährlich – Hamburg, Germany
31 Small Vega – Copenhagen, Denmark

2 Huxley’s Neue Welt – Berlin, Germany

The album’s full tracklisting reads:

  1. Shadows
  2. Lane feat. Denzel Curry
  3. Never Forget feat. Chef 187, Tio Nason, Mwanjé
  4. Mask on feat. Joey Bada$$
  5. BONA
  6. Can I Live feat. W.I.T.C.H
  7. Imposter Syndrome feat. James Sakala
  8. Tilibobo
  9. Lo Rain feat. Mwanjé
  10. IDGAF feat. Kojey Radical
  11. Let Me Be Great feat Angélique Kidjo

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Atlanta mathcore band The Callous Daoboys have released a new EP teaser, 'Pushing The Pink Envelope'
Drug Store Romeos, Lucinda Chua and more have joined the line-up for London festival Mirrors
Bastille have released a video for their 'Pompeii' collaboration with composer Hans Zimmer