Sigur Rós have announced a bunch of world tour dates

They'll play shows in Mexico, Canada and the United States, with more to follow soon.
Sigur Ros
Photo credit: Dean Deblois & Hörður Óttarsson

Sigur Rós have announced the first dates of an “extensive” world tour, their first in almost five years.

Calling off in Mexico, Canada and the United States, tickets go on sale at 10am local time on Friday 25th February via

Tickets for the Mexico leg, excluding Festival Vaivén, are on sale at 11AM local time on Saturday 26th February. A press release confirms more dates will follow soon.

The band are said to be “in the process of writing and recording their first new studio album since 2013’s ‘Kveikur’” and “will air new songs at the shows”.

It’s also revealed that Sigur Rós founding members Jónsi and Georg Holm are being joined in the studio and on tour by former member Kjartan Sveinsson, who is rejoining the band almost a decade after stepping away to focus on other projects.

The new dates read:

30 Festival Vaivén, Mexico

3 Citibanamex Auditorium, Monterrey
5 Auditorio Telmex Guadalajara
9 Orpheum Theatre – Vancouver, BC
11 Theater of the Clouds – Portland, OR
13 Paramount Theatre – Seattle, WA
17 Frost Amphitheater – Stanford, CA 
19 Shrine Auditorium – Los Angeles, CA
23 ACL Live at the Moody Theater – Austin TX
24 ACL Live at the Moody Theater – Austin TX
25 Winspear Opera House – Dallas, TX 
27 Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre – Atlanta, GA
28 Ryman Auditorium – Nashville, TN
31 State Theatre – Minneapolis, MN 

1 Riverside Theater – Milwaukee, WI
3 Masonic Temple Theatre – Detroit, MI
4 Auditorium Theatre – Chicago, IL 
6 The Anthem – Washington, D.C.
7 The Met Philadelphia – Philadelphia, PA 
8 Boch Center Wang Theatre – Boston, MA 
10 Place des Arts – Montreal, QC 
11 Meridian Hall – Toronto, ON 
14 Kings Theatre – Brooklyn, NY 
17 Beacon Theatre – New York, NY 
18 Beacon Theatre – New York, NY 

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Declan McKenna has confirmed a new headline tour, including a night at Ally Pally
Torres has announced a new album with "rage song" 'Collect'
Sleater-Kinney have announced their eleventh studio album, 'Little Rope'