Slaves’ third album ‘Acts of Fear and Love’ is loads of fun, and it’s streaming online now

What a good release day, eh?

Slaves have released their third album, ‘Acts of Fear and Love’.

“We’ve basically just banged ‘em out before,” Isaac says of their new album process in the new issue of Dork. “This time we decided from the off that we were going to have some proper choruses, which was a new approach.”

“We turned down a lot of A+ Slaves songs too,” Laurie adds, referencing the albums slender nine-song tracklist. “I think there’s a danger as an artist of getting a bit like, ‘Of course everyone wants to hear everything, it’s all great!’ And all that does is mean there comes a point where people are skipping tracks. I get it with albums now, I’m listening to albums that are considered great, and I’m sat there skipping certain songs.”

Read more in the September issue of Dork, which also features Spring King, Idles, Friendly Fires, Anna Calvi, Our Girl and more.

Slaves are hitting the road this November in support of the record too, with a tour that includes a night at London’s Ally Pally.

Catch them at:

07 Newcastle Upon Tyne O2 Academy Newcastle
08 Glasgow Barrowlands
10 Nottingham Rock City
12 Belfast Limelight
13 Dublin Academy
15 Norwich Uea
16 Liverpool O2 Academy Liverpool
17 Manchester Academy
19 Leeds O2 Academy Liverpool
20 Bristol O2 Academy Bristol
22 Cardiff Tramshed
23 Birmingham O2 Academy Birmingham
24 London Alexandra Palace

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Declan McKenna has confirmed a new headline tour, including a night at Ally Pally
Torres has announced a new album with "rage song" 'Collect'
Sleater-Kinney have announced their eleventh studio album, 'Little Rope'