Spector have announced a new album for November, ‘Here Come the Early Nights’

They've a tour coming up, too.

Spector have announced a new album, ‘Here Come the Early Nights’.

Set for release on 24th November, it’s accompanied by a UK tour that will take in London, Manchester, Birmingham, Bristol, Edinburgh, Leeds and more.

“We’ve been keen to work with Dimitri Tikovoi again since we made the Ex-Directory EP which kind of single handedly resuscitated our career,” the band say of the new record. “We started working on a few ideas with him, including the song that ended up becoming ‘Driving Home for Halloween’ and then discussed making a whole album together but it soon transpired he only had thirteen days spare. With our previous albums having taken anything from a month to over a year to record, that time span felt like an exciting challenge. Jen and Nic recorded all their rhythm parts in two days at the amazing Narcissus in Willesden Green, then we reverted to Dimitri’s studio in Kensal Rise, where Jed and I would take it in turns recording with Dimitri while the other finished ideas against the clock in the room next store.

“It feels like a slightly more reflective record than the last one, and maybe it’s the fewest love songs we’ve ever had on an album, despite the songs being written with more love. As ever, there are lyrics dealing with the tenets of getting older (which is funny because I thought I was old when we were writing Enjoy It While It Lasts) like hair loss, (‘Not Another Weekend’), moving house (‘Room with a Different View’) and not being able to go clubbing with a baby (‘Here Come the Early Nights’) it also deals with a few slightly more abstract concepts, from imagined phone calls with a friend who doesn’t pick up (‘Some People’) to the missing Raphael painting ‘Portrait of a Young Man’ (‘Pressure’).”

Catch the band live at the following:

28 The Caves, Edinburgh
29 University Students Union, Newcastle
30 Stylus, Leeds

1 Mama Roux’s, Birmingham
3 Trinity Centre, Bristol
12 Rescue Rooms, Nottingham
13 The Joiners, Southampton
14 Electric Brixton, London
15 Canvas, Manchester

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Paris Texas have released a new 35-minute live performance and interview video, 'Live From Mars'
beabadoobee has released a new album, 'Live In London', recorded at Brixton Academy
Olivia Dean has released a new EP, 'Ladies Room'