Speedy Ortiz have a new album coming in September – check out teaser track ‘You S02’

It's their first full-length in over five years.
Photo Credit: Shervin Lainez

Speedy Ortiz have announced their new album ‘Rabbit Rabbit’.

The record was co-produced by the band with Illuminati Hotties’ Sarah Tudzinis, and is set for release on 1st September via Wax Nine, preceded by the Philadelphia band’s new single ‘You S02’.

Their first full-length in over five years, ‘Rabbit Rabbit’ is also the first to feature longtime touring members Audrey Zee Whitesides (bass) and Joey Doubek (drums), who are now full-time members.

“Mostly when I’ve met my musical heroes, they’re kind and principled people. But occasionally someone whose work I love(d) reveals themselves to be anti-union, or anti-’woke,’ or some other gear-grinding ugliness. That’s who I wrote ‘You S02’ about, the song’s frenzied guitar and synth solos mirroring the crazymaking intensity wafting off people who act like that,” Sadie Dupuis explains.

“In the TV show You’s second season, the main character moves from New York to LA in hopes of a fresh start, but (spoiler) remains a murdering psychopath. Changing cities won’t make you a hero if you still treat others badly.”

Check out the single below.

The tracklisting reads:

Kim Cattrall
You S02
Plus One
Cry Cry Cry
Ballad of Y&S
Who’s Afraid of the Bath
Ranch vs. Ranch
Emergency & Me
The Sunday
Brace Thee

  • cover
    Dork Radio
The 1975 are officially going on "indefinite hiatus" from shows after their current Still... At Their Very Best tour
Dominic Fike concludes a long, long-awaited debut UK run at London's Hammersmith Apollo
Noname has a tour of the UK and Europe booked in for early next year