Sunflower Bean have announced their third album ‘Headful of Sugar’

The album's opening track 'Who Put You Up To This?' is streaming now.

Sunflower Bean have announced their third album ‘Headful of Sugar’.

The full-length is set to arrive on 6th May via Lucky Number, and is previewed by the opening track from the record, ‘Who Put You Up To This?’

The band says of the track: “Are you satisfied? Who put you up to do things that you do? Was it your own choice? Questioning your life is the first step to taking the agency to change it. Sometimes you have to let go of who you have been so that you can become who you want to be.“

It sees the trio making a bit of a sonic shift in the best possible way, which you can check out below.

The album ‘Headful of Sugar’ is described as a “psychedelic headrush designed to be played loud, windows down”.

“We wanted to write about the lived experience of late capitalism, how it feels every day, the mundanity of not knowing where every construct is supposed to ultimately lead you,” guitarist and vocalist Nick Kivlen says. “The message is in the title: this is about fast pleasures, the sugar of life, the joy that comes with letting go of everything you thought mattered.”

“Tomorrow is not promised, no tour is promised, no popularity is promised, no health or money is promised,” bassist / vocalist Julia Cumming continues. “Why not make what you want to make on your own terms? Why not make a record that makes you want to dance? Why not make a record that makes you want to scream?”

Sunflower Bean are set to hit the UK this March and April. You can catch them at:

30 Cambridge, UK @ Junction 2
31 Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club

1 Manchester, UK @ Strange Waves Festival
2 Glasgow, UK @ Stereo
4 Newcastle upon Tyne, UK @ Newcastle University
5 Nottingham, UK @ Rescue Rooms
6 Birmingham, UK @ Mama Roux’s
7 London, UK @ Electric Ballroom
9 Bristol, UK @ Thekla
10 Portsmouth, UK @ The Wedgewood Rooms
11 Brighton, UK @ Concorde 2

The tracklist for ‘Headful of Sugar’ reads:

Who Put You Up To This?
In Flight
Roll The Dice
Headful of Sugar
I Don’t Have Control Sometimes
Stand By Me
Post Love
Baby Don’t Cry
Beat The Odds
Feel Somebody

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Peace offer up a five-star evening of rock star swagger in London
Empire State Bastard have released a new single, 'Stutter'
Tove Lo has shared her new single, 'I Like U'