Swim Deep reconsider childhood dreams with their new single, ‘First Song’

It's from their upcoming new album, due in summer.
Photo Credit: Steve Gullick

Swim Deep have released a new single, ‘First Song’.

It follows on from recent drop ‘How Many Love Songs Have Died In Vegas?’, arriving ahead of their new album ‘There’s A Big Star Outside…’, set for release on 7th June.

Frontman Austin says: “This song came about after Cavan got my heavy into Mogwai, and I got obsessed with this arpeggiated loop I had made. It’s one of those songs that just came crashing in and the baseline made itself. I wanted a driving force of a song that meant business.

“The lyrics are centred around my childhood dream to live a suburban life with two parents, two cars, a cat, a ‘nuclear’ family. However then reflecting that actually what I had was the making of me, and it was actually pretty cool. It offered me raw love, freedom, escapism, and I wouldn’t change it for all the Renault Scenics a big fancy summer holidays in the world.”

Check out the new track below; the album’s full tracklisting reads:

  1. How Many Love Songs Have Died In Vegas?
  2. Very Heaven
  3. These Words
  4. Robin
  5. Don’t Make Me a Stranger
  6. First Song
  7. Big Star
  8. It’s Just Sun In Your Eyes
  9. So Long, So Far (Marble-Bellied Baby)
  10. Fire Surrounds

Lexie Carroll finds joy and sadness in the everyday as she announces her new EP, 'you look lovely when you're living'
Lexie Carroll and Scout have joined the line-up for Nell Mescal's Dork's Night Out show at London's 100 Club
Sans Soucis has released the first taster of their debut album with new single, 'Sexed & Sexual'