Tarek from Spring King is up for Music Producers Guild Award

Nice one m8. You'll have no trouble beating that 'James Blake' bloke. Never heard of him.
Tarek Musa from Spring King is up for a big production award.

The winners of The Music Producers Guild Awards will be announced on 16th February next year at a posh Grosvenor House bash, with judging taking place on 5th February.

Our Tarek is up for ‘Self Producing Artist Of The Year’, where he’ll take on James Blake (never heard of him) and Jeff Lynne (nah, not a clue).

Sarcasm works on the internet now, right?

Others up for gongs include Josh Homme, Paul Epworth and Nigel Godrich, with Radiohead will take on Calvin, Rihanna and Zayn for single of the year. That should be fun.

The complete list of nominees is:

UK Producer Of The Year

Paul Epworth

Nigel Godrich

Fraser T. Smith

International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Prism Sound

Josh Homme

Garret ‘Jacknife’ Lee

Tony Visconti

Breakthrough Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Novation

Brett Cox

Andrew Hunt

Joel Laslett Pott

Self Producing Artist of the Year, sponsored by Spitfire Audio

James Blake

Jeff Lynne

Tarek Musa (Spring King)

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve

Guy Massey

Mark Rankin

Richard Woodcraft

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Genelec

Manon Grandjean

Andrew Hunt

Jack Ruston

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic

Tom Elmhirst

Mark ‘Spike’ Stent

Cenzo Townshend

Mastering Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Prism Sound

John Davis

Barry Grint

Mandy Parnell

Remixer of the Year

Disclosure (Howard & Guy Lawrence)

Matthew Herbert


UK Album Of The Year

Black Star – David Bowie

Love and Hate – Michael Kiwanuka

A Moon Shaped Pool – Radiohead

UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure

This Is What Your Came For – Calvin Harris feat. Rihanna

Burn The Witch – Radiohead

Pillowtalk – ZAYN

Studio Of The Year

Abbey Road Studios

British Grove Studios

RAK Studios

The A&R Award

Toby L & Tim Dellow (Transgressive Records)

Bart McDonagh (Domino Records)

Nigel Reeve (Warner Music International)

  • cover
    Dork Radio
The 1975 are officially going on "indefinite hiatus" from shows after their current Still... At Their Very Best tour
Dominic Fike concludes a long, long-awaited debut UK run at London's Hammersmith Apollo
Noname has a tour of the UK and Europe booked in for early next year