The 1975’s new single is here! Have a listen to ‘Sincerity Is Scary’ now

It's the fourth track from their new album.

The 1975 have dropped their new single, ‘Sincerity Is Scary’.

It’s the fourth track from their upcoming album ‘A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships’, which will arrive on 30th November, following mega-bangers ‘TOOTIMETOOTIMETOOTIME’, ‘Love It If We Made It’, and ‘Give Yourself A Try’.

“’Sincerity Is Scary’ is about me trying to denounce all of that postmodern fear of like being real, you know?” Matty tells Zane Lowe, who premiered the track today on Beats 1. “Like irony first, irony first. Make sure you’re ironic because then you can’t be judged on being a person. 

“And I’ve become so aware of the shtick that exists within my kind of lyrical narrative as well, because obviously I love everything that I’ve done previously but now as I got older I see these kind of defence mechanisms whether they be jokes or being slightly sardonic or like he is the big emotional bit of the song but I’m not going to be really emotional. All those kind of things. 

“I think on this record it’s slightly more, it’s just a bit more open and a bit easier, and genuinely sincere.”

Check out ‘Sincerity Is Scary’ below.

The 1975 are heading out on tour from 14th January in Belfast, before playing Dublin, Glasgow, Cardiff, Brighton, London, Exeter, Birmingham, Manchester and Sheffield. Support comes from No Rome and Pale Waves.

The tour will visit:

9 Belfast SSE Arena
10 Dublin 3Arena
12 Glasgow SSE Hydro
14 Cardiff Motorpoint Arena
16 Brighton Centre
18 London The O2
21 Exeter WestPoint
23 Birmingham Arena
24 Manchester Arena
25 Sheffield FLYDSA Arena

Download 2024 looks to the future with a lineup that embraces buzzy new talent
In the presence of royalty: King Isis
SON Estrella Galicia Soundhood Hackney delivers intoxicating levels of talent from a heady mix of genre-bending acts