The 1975’s new track ‘Frail State of Mind’ is here – listen now!

It's the latest taster from their forthcoming fourth album, 'Notes on a Conditional Form'.

The countdown is over – The 1975 have dropped their brand new track, ‘Frail State of Mind’.

The latest taster of the band’s forthcoming fourth album ‘Notes on a Conditional Form’, the band have been teasing the song for the past few days. Now, it’s finally streaming online.

In a chat with Dazed last year, ‘Frail State of Mind’ was described as a “sad, Burial kind of thing about social anxiety, you know, going out. I’m better at it happening, me and you sitting down and having a conversation, than thinking about going to do the conversation. The social event’s normally always fine, but the build up to it, I hate it.”

It’s a pretty good description; the song clearly has those hallmarks of UK Garage and nighttime vibes that have been teased in recent months. You can check it out below, and read our first thoughts on ‘Frail State of Mind’ here.

‘Notes On Conditional Form’ is the second part of the 1975’s ‘Music For Cars’ project, that kicked off last year with ‘A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships’, and is set for release on 21st February 2020. We’ve already heard two other tracks from the record – the Greta Thunberg featuring opener ‘The 1975’ and the bombastic ‘People’, which arrived right before the band headlined Reading & Leeds back in August.

In support of the album, the band will head out on the road, playing shows in Nottingham, Newcastle, Leeds, Bournemouth, Cardiff, Birmingham, Liverpool, Manchester, Aberdeen, Glasgow and Dublin at the start of next year.

The dates read:

15 Nottingham, Motorpoint Arena
16 Newcastle, Utilita Arena
17 Leeds, first direct arena
19 Bournemouth, BIC
21 London, The O2
22 London, The O2
23 Cardiff, Motorpoint Arena
25 Birmingham, Arena
26 Liverpool, M&S Bank Arena
28 Manchester, Arena
29 Aberdeen, P&J Live

1 Glasgow, SSE Hydro
3 Dublin, 3Arena

Bambie Thug at Download 2024: "Nothing is going to stop me now"
HotWax talk their debut album at Download 2024: "We’re pretty much ready"
Busted are in the studio with former Bring Me The Horizon star Jordan Fish: “We’re all open-minded"