The Decemberists announce ‘apocalyptic’ new album

Colin Meloy promises "exuberant nihilism" on new album recorded with St Vincent's producer.
Portland folk-rockers The Decemberists have announced details of their return, with a new album ‘I’ll Be Your Girl’ set for release on March 16th on Capitol Records.

With some US dates already announced, the announcement also teases UK, EU and Australian jaunts to come later in the year, so keep an eye out for further news.

They’ve even made one new track, ‘Severed’, available to stream now. “Lots of foreboding. Fun guitar line. Cool arpeggio,” the band say. “We hope you like it.”

The “synth-laden” tune even has a zany animated video, featuring a tiny devil-Trump, which you can check out below.

As we’ve come to expect from the verbose indie band, the details are accompanied by a lengthy introduction to the record by the band on their website and mailing list.

Recorded over the Portland autumn with St. Vincent, Lana del Rey and Angel Olsen collaborator John Congleton, the album is apparently going to mark a departure for the band, with promises of “nice vintage synth work” and “some heavy drumming”. The D’s are said to have taken inspiration from the likes of Roxy Music and New Order.

“When you’ve been a band for 17 years, inevitably there are habits you fall into,” says lead singer Colin Meloy, per Consequence of Sound. “So our ambition this time was really just to get out of our comfort zone. That’s what prompted working with a different producer and using a different studio. We wanted to free ourselves from old patterns and give ourselves permission to try something different.”

Summing up ‘I’ll Be Your Girl’, Meloy said the aim was “an apocalyptic dance party” and described the record “exuberant nihilism.”

As ever, artwork is provided by award-winning illustrator Carson Ellis, and it looks suitably psychedelic. The band say they’re also in the process of concocting “a behemoth of a deluxe edition of this record”, promising “extra tracks, exclusive art, wild packaging”. It’s been a really busy day at Decemberist HQ.

The band released their last full-length ‘What a Beautiful World, What a Terrible World’ in 2015, before teaming up with Olivia Chaney for a folk covers album under the guise Offa Rex last year.

‘I’ll Be Your Girl’ track list:

1. Once In My Life

2. Cutting Stone

3. Severed

4. Starwatcher

5. Tripping Along

6. Your Ghost

7. Everything Is Awful

8. Sucker’s Prayer

9. We All Die Young

10. Rusalka, Rusalka / The Wild Rushes

11. I’ll Be Your Girl

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Matt Maltese: "I think that we're in a bit of a perma-crisis state as a planet"
Girli has released a video for her new single, 'Matriarchy': "It's sensual, powerful and queer"
Avenged Sevenfold have unveiled a new video for their single 'Mattel'