The Murder Capital have released an anthemic new single, ‘Ethel’, from their upcoming second album, ‘Gigi’s Recovery’

The full 12-track project is slated to arrive on January 20th via Human Season Records.
Photo Credit: James Kelly

The Murder Capital continue to unveil their second album, ‘Gigi’s Recovery’, with their new single, ‘Ethel’.

It is the Irish post-punk quintet’s third track of 2022 following two previous singles, ‘Only Good Things’ and ‘A Thousand Lives’, which will both also feature on the record. The full 12-track project is slated to arrive on January 20th via Human Season Records.

Their debut album, ‘When I Have Fears’, was shared in 2019, with Dork’s 4-star review describing it as, “a variation on the post-punk theme that even if not entirely new, maintains a certain tenderness amid the noise”.

“The song ‘Ethel’ is a picture of a crossroads, really, asking you what you want from life,” the band have shared on their latest offering. “Whether you want to continue down a path of chaos, or make a change in your course. It’s showing you what is possible when you make the decisions that bring a sort of cradled warmth into your future. The idea of ‘Ethel’ is that you can have what you truly desire if you put to rest those short-lived fixes that never bring you any real happiness.”

The Murder Capital’s new track has arrived with a music video accompaniment, directed by Maxim Kelly who shares: “Initially I thought Ethel should be the main character and do the dance at the end, and I always had this image from this French film called My American Uncle. Where it’s like a little girl standing up at a table. I originally had that image in my head for a rap video, but it didn’t really make sense to the song, I wanted this to feel more surreal so then as I started finding more imagery, it kind of transpired that maybe the maid was the more interesting character.”

You can listen to ‘Ethelhere, and watch the new music video below:

You can pre-order ‘Gigi’s Recoveryhere – the full tracklist reads as below:

1. Existence
2. Crying
3. Return My Head
4. Ethel
5. The Stars Will Leave Their Stage
6. Belonging
7. The Lie Becomes the Self
8. A Thousand Lives
9. We Had to Disappear
10. Only Good Things
11. Gigi’s Recovery
12. Exist

The Murder Capital will be kicking off a previously-announced UK & EU tour early next year – tickets are available here, with the full live dates as follows:

4 Trix Club, Antwerp, BE
5 Luxor, Cologne, GER
6 Molotow Musikclub, Hamburg, GER
8 Lido, Berlin, GER
9 Hansa 39, Munich, GER
11 Laiterie Club, Strasbourg, FR
13 Le Trabendo, Paris, FR
14 Paradiso, Amsterdam, NE
16 Albert Hall, Manchester, UK
18 SWG3, Glasgow, UK
20 Stylus, Leeds, UK
21 The Mill, Birmingham, UK
23 The O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
24 The Marble Factory, Bristol, UK
26 Vicar Street, Dublin, IRE
27 The Tramshed, Cardiff, UK

The May issue of Dork, featuring A. G. Cook, Djo, English Teacher, Luke Hemmings, WILLOW and more, is out now
Dua Lipa has released a new single inspired by knowing what you're getting into, 'Illusion'
Nell Mescal has released a new single about moving on, 'Yellow Dresser'