“The musical equivalent of a Coronation Street episode about fracking” – CMAT is back with a new single, ‘Mayday’

The standalone single is "a very sexy song about climate change".

World’s greatest pop star CMAT has dropped a brand new standalone single, ‘Mayday’.

The track deals with two topics – matters of the heart, and the impending climate disaster. Standard, important stuff, then. She’s already been playing it on her recent sold out UK, EU and Ireland tour, but now you can hear the fully recorded version.

Talking about the track, CMAT explains: “‘Mayday’ is a very sexy song about climate change. I found the inspiration for the song last summer. My boyfriend was on tour and flying into a country that was at the time being evacuated for forest fires. I was so anxious, I kept asking for him to text me when he landed. Eventually he did, like: ‘hey! The runway is on fire’. I thought the human anxieties of the oncoming climate change disaster are something that are either not spoken about, or spoken about in big, sweeping, dramatic statements. I wanted to bring it back down to something pretty mundane and quite funny. Like the musical equivalent of a Coronation Street episode about fracking”

CMAT returns to the live stage in March, with further shows to be announced for May and beyond.

2 – Munich, Mufthalle (w/ The Teskey Brothers)
3 – Cologne, E-werk (w/ The Teskey Brothers)
4 – Berlin, Verti Music Hall (w/ The Teskey Brothers)
10 – Amsterdam, AFAS (w/ The Teskey Brothers)
11 – Amsterdam, AFAS (w/ The Teskey Brothers)
24 – Brussels, La Madeleine (w/ The Teskey Brothers)
25 – Paris, Bataclan (w/ The Teskey Brothers)

12 – Cork, Cyprus Avenue (Rescheduled)
13 – Cork, Cyprus Avenue (Rescheduled)
19 – Nottingham, Rescue Rooms (Rescheduled)
27 – Leeds, Live at Leeds in the Park
28 – Warrington, Neighbourhood

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Paris Texas have released a new 35-minute live performance and interview video, 'Live From Mars'
beabadoobee has released a new album, 'Live In London', recorded at Brixton Academy
Olivia Dean has released a new EP, 'Ladies Room'