The National have announced their new album, ‘First Two Pages of Frankenstein’, featuring Taylor Swift, Phoebe Bridgers and Sufjan Stevens

Check out the massive 'Tropic Morning News' now.

The National have announced the details of their ninth studio album, ‘First Two Pages of Frankenstein’.

Set for release on 28th April via 4AD, the 11-track record features guest appearances from Taylor Swift, Phoebe Bridgers and Sufjan Stevens and was recorded at Long Pond Studios on upstate New York.

A press release explains ‘First Two Pages of Frankenstein’ was initially stalled while lead singer Matt Berninger navigated, “a very dark spot where I couldn’t come up with lyrics or melodies at all. Even though we’d always been anxious whenever we were working on a record, this was the first time it ever felt like maybe things really had come to an end.” Instead, The National “managed to come back together and approach everything from a different angle, and because of that we arrived at what feels like a new era for the band,” according to guitarist/pianist Bryce Dessner.

The news comes with the upbeat ‘Tropic Morning News’. “When Matt came in with that song in the depths of his depression, it felt like a turning point for us,” says Aaron Dessner. “It’s almost Dylan-esque in its lyrics and it’s so much fun to play; everything suddenly felt like it was coming alive again.”

Co-written with Berninger’s wife Carin Besser, “Tropic Morning News” takes its title from a phrase Besser invented to describe the regrettably routine practice of doomscrolling. “The idea of referring to the darkness of the news in such a light way unlocked something in me,” says Berninger. “It became a song about having a hard time expressing yourself, and trying to connect with someone when the noise of the world is drowning out any potential for conversation.”

The tracklisting for the album reads:

Once Upon A Poolside (feat. Sufjan Stevens)
New Order T-Shirt
This Isn’t Helping (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
Tropic Morning News
The Alcott (feat. Taylor Swift)
Grease In Your Hair
Ice Machines
Your Mind Is Not Your Friend (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
Send For Me

The band have also announced a bunch of 2023 tour dates.

20 – Chicago, IL – Auditorium Theatre
21 – Chicago, IL – Auditorium Theatre
24 – Washington, DC – The Anthem
26 – Boston, MA – Boston Calling Festival
28 – Napa, CA – Bottlerock Festival
30 – Los Angeles, CA – Greek Theatre

02 – Troutdale, OR – McMenamins Edgefield
03 – Troutdale, OR – McMenamins Edgefield
04 – Redmond, WA – Marymoor Park
05 – Burnaby, BC, Canada – Festival Lawn at Deer Lake Park

01 – Philadelphia, PA – The Met Philadelphia
03 – New Haven, CT – Westville Music Bowl
07 – Detroit, MI – The Fillmore Detroit
08 – Madison, WI – The Sylvee
09 – Minneapolis, MN – The Armory
11 – Denver, CO – Mission Ballroom
15 – Nashville, TN – Ascend Amphitheater
16 – Atlanta, GA – Cadence Bank Amphitheatre at Chastain Park
18 – New York, NY – Madison Square Garden with very special guest Patti Smith and her band

21 – Dublin, IRE – 3 Arena
23 – Leeds, UK – First Direct Arena
24 – Glasgow, UK – OVO Hydro Arena
26 – London, UK – Alexandra Palace
29 – Amsterdam, NL – Ziggo Dome
30 – Berlin, DE – Max-Schmeling-Halle

01 – Munich, DE – Zenith
04 – Madrid, ES – WiZink Center
05 – Porto, PT – Super Bock Arena
06 – Lisbon, PT – Campo Pequeno

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Against The Current arrive in their "nightmares era" with new single, 'silent stranger'
Atlanta mathcore band The Callous Daoboys have released a new EP teaser, 'Pushing The Pink Envelope'
Drug Store Romeos, Lucinda Chua and more have joined the line-up for London festival Mirrors