The National have shared their new track ‘Eucalyptus’

Their upcoming album ‘First Two Pages of Frankenstein’ is set to be released on April 28th.

The National have shared a new preview of their upcoming album ‘First Two Pages of Frankenstein’, with the release of ‘Eucalyptus’.

It follows singles ‘New Order T-Shirt’ and ‘Tropic Morning News’.

Speaking about the track, frontman Matt Berninger explains: “We rehearsed it twice without ever having had a demo and played it to the audience that night, and what you hear on the album was partially recorded during that performance,” he says. “It’s got this raw, immediate feeling, and it made sense to leave the rough edges instead of trying to perfect them. Eucalyptus’ is about a couple splitting up their possessions after a breakup — like, ‘What are we going to do with the spring water we get delivered, what’s going to happen to all these plants?’ It’s about all those little things you end up having to think about when you’ve become so connected to someone.”

The band’s new album was produced at Long Pond Studios in upstate New York, with guest appearances from Taylor Swift, Phoebe Bridgers and Sufjan Stevens.

‘First Two Pages of Frankenstein’ is set to be released on April 28th.

You can check out ‘Eucalyptus’ here:

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Peace offer up a five-star evening of rock star swagger in London
Empire State Bastard have released a new single, 'Stutter'
Tove Lo has shared her new single, 'I Like U'