The Orielles have released a new video for ‘Darkened Corners’, from their recent fourth LP, ‘Tableau’

The 11 new 2023 live dates will run over March and April.

The Orielles have released a new video accompaniment for ‘Darkened Corner’, cut from their recent fourth album, ‘Tableau’.

The single was originally featured on their recent fourth album, ‘Tableau’, which arrived on October 7th via Heavenly Recordings. The 16-track contemporary work was co-produced by the band alongside Joel Anthony Patchett (King Krule, Tim Burgess)

“‘Darkened Corners’ is one of the collective favourites of the album for us,” the Yorkshire trio share. “Its musical narrative best describes emotionally what creating this record felt like for us. We wanted to create this kind of Krauty, super rigid and formulaic first part where everything happens in these repeated cycles. Then as the song starts to turn darker we created this spiralling passage where you should feel like you don’t really have a sense of time of where home is moving into this intense manic phase as Sid puts it the drums try to break free from the old ways into this blissful new world.”

The new music video is the group’s first film co-directed by frequent collaborator Neelam Khan Vela. “The video honours Neelam‘s photography work as we see through her lens and thus the video’s main character resembles a shadow in a photo,” The Orielles explain. “Meanwhile we are paying homage to photographer Lee Friedlander, retracing the steps of an exhibition seen in Berlin last October which inspired the lyrics for the track. As we recreate some of the iconic work of Friedlander, placing ourselves within his frames, we map the symbiosis of two photographers becoming one.”

You can watch the new video for ‘Darkened Corners’ here.

You can listen to ‘Tableauhere – the full tracklist reads as below:

1. Chromo I
2. Chromo II
3. Airtight
4. The Instrument
5. The Improvisation 001
6. Television
7. Some Day Later
8. Darkened Corners
9. Honfleur Remembered
10. Beam/s
11. To Offer, To Erase
12. The Toom
13. By Its Light
14. Transmission
15. Drawn and Defined
16. Stones

The Orielles have also announced a new slate of UK headline tour dates for early next year – tickets are available here, with the full live dates as below:

22 Cambridge, MASH
23 Brighton, Concorde 2
27 Southampton, The Loft
28 Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
31 Sheffield, The Foundry

1 Birmingham, The Mill
2 Stoke On Trent, Sugarmill
4 London, Electric Brixton
5 Nottingham, Rescue Rooms
6 Manchester, New Century Hall
8 Glasgow, The Garage

  • cover
    Dork Radio
The Mysterines have announced their new album, 'Afraid Of Tomorrows'
The Church of Blood Records all-dayer has confirmed Black Honey, Courting and more
Lizzy McAlpine has announced a new headline tour