Theresa May, popcorn chicken and bras: it’s the new video from Muncie Girls, ‘Locked Up’

"I wrote a list of a lot of things that I find bizarre and overwhelming," says Lande.

Muncie Girls have dropped another teaser track from their upcoming second album. 

‘Locked Up’ follows on from previous cuts ‘Falling Down’ and ‘Picture of Health’, all taken from ‘Fixed Ideals’, which is set for release on 31st August.

“I’ve never felt like I fit into ‘normal’ life and I often find myself trying to articulate/make sense of it,” Lande Hekt tells Fader. “I wrote a list of a lot of things that I find bizarre and overwhelming about (my version of) society that we’re expected to not only accept, but celebrate. It’s kind of depressing really. It has a lot to do with growing up as well and the horrors of being a weird teenage girl. 

“The line “I can’t be the only one to see the ghost in the room” is in there because my friend said that she’d heard someone say something similar about veganism. The chorus is about how we get trapped by what we don’t question, but it’s also about the prison system and it’s about being claustrophobic, which was in part inspired by my love of the song ‘Franklin Prison Blues’ by Onsind. The guitar riff at the start I came up with when I was listening to a lot of the Replacements.”

Muncies are set to head out on tour later this year, catch them at:

26 Manchester The Deaf Institute
27 Birmingham The Cuban Embassy
28 Nottingham Rock City Basement
29 Newcastle The Think Tank – Underground
30 Glasgow The Garage – Attic

1 London Borderline
2 Norwich The Waterfront
3 Southampton The Joiners

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Atlanta mathcore band The Callous Daoboys have released a new EP teaser, 'Pushing The Pink Envelope'
Drug Store Romeos, Lucinda Chua and more have joined the line-up for London festival Mirrors
Bastille have released a video for their 'Pompeii' collaboration with composer Hans Zimmer