Tegan and Sara have shared ‘Smoking Weed Alone’, the fifth single from their imminent new album, ‘Crybaby’

The LP will be released in full tomorrow, October 21st, via Mom+Pop Music.
Photo credit: Eluvier Acosta

With their new album, ‘Crybaby’, due to drop tomorrow, indie-pop twins Tegan and Sara have shared a new tack, ‘Smoking Weed Alone’.

It is the fifth single to be shared from the record, following ‘Yellow’, ‘Fucking Up What Matters’, ‘Faded Like a Feeling’, and ‘I Can’t Grow Up’. The LP will be released in full tomorrow, October 21st, via Mom+Pop Music.

On the new track, Sara says: “With this album, I wanted there to be a dialogue that we could have about the songs. Some of Tegan’s songs became almost like duets, because she allowed me to go in there and challenge her to rewrite lyrics.”

“I wanted a narrative that could tie into our relationship and some of the things that were happening in our life, even if the song wasn’t about that,” she adds. “And for ‘Smoking Weed Alone,’ there’s a chorus where we’re sort of singing to each other, and we haven’t done that before in our career.”

You can listen to ‘Smoking Weed Alonehere, and watch the music video below:

You can pre-save / pre-order ‘Crybabyhere – the full tracklist reads:

1. I Can’t Grow Up 
2. All I Wanted
3. Fucking Up What Matters
4. Yellow
5. Smoking Weed Alone
6. Faded Like A Feeling 
7. I’m Okay
8. Pretty Shitty Time 
9. Under My Control
10. This Ain’t Going Well 
11. Sometimes I See Stars
12. Whatever That Was

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Spector have released their upbeat new single, 'Another Life': "We must be getting old because we left the acoustic guitar in"
Humour have announced a new EP with an early teaser inspired by a 19th century rubber baron - check out 'Big Money'
Alex Lahey has announced a new deluxe album with bonus single 'Newsreader'