Wolf Alice, Shame, Let’s Eat Grandma, IDLES and more are nominees for the AIM Independent Music Awards

The winners will be announced next month.

The list of nominees for the AIM Independent Music Awards is out.

Leading the 2018 list are IDLES with four noms, followed by Let’s Eat Grandma, Phoebe Bridgers and Jorja Smith who are shortlisted for three each, and Charlotte Gainsbourg, Shame, SOPHIE, and Moses Sumney who have received two each.

Wolf Alice, Goat Girl, Ghostpoet, Christine and the Queens, Dave, Superorganism, Confidence Man
and King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard are also among this year’s acts.

The award ceremony will take place in London on 4th September – check out all the noms below.

Independent Album of the Year – in association with Ingrooves
Charlotte Gainsbourg – Rest (Because Music)
Jorja Smith – Lost & Found (FAMM)
Kamaal Williams – The Return (Warp Records)
Kamasi Washington – Heaven and Earth (XL Recordings)
Let’s Eat Grandma – I’m All Ears (Transgressive)
Nadine Shah – Holiday Destination (1965 Records/[PIAS])
Phoebe Bridgers – Stranger In The Alps (Dead Oceans)
Shame – Songs Of Praise (Dead Oceans)
Young Fathers – Cocoa Sugar (Ninja Tune)

Independent Track of the Year – in association with Spotify
Bicep – Glue (Ninja Tune)
Christine and the Queens – Girlfriend (Because Music)
Dave – Question Time (Dave)
Peggy Gou – It Makes You Forget (Itgehane) (Ninja Tune)
Charlotte Gainsbourg – Deadly Valentine (Because Music)
Ghostpoet – Immigrant Boogie (Play It Again Sam)
Let’s Eat Grandma – Falling Into Me (Transgressive)
Phoebe Bridgers – Motion Sickness (Dead Oceans)
Shame – One Rizla (Dead Oceans)
Wolf Alice – Don’t Delete The Kisses (Dirty Hit)

Best Sophomore Release – in association with Radio X
Fever Ray – Plunge (Rabid Records)
Gwenno – Le Kov (Heavenly Recordings)
King Krule – The OOZ (XL Recordings)
Let’s Eat Grandma – I’m All Ears (Transgressive)
Nines – Crop Circle (XL Recordings)

UK Breakthrough of the Year – in association with YouTube
AJ Tracey (self-released)
Goat Girl (Rough Trade Records)
IDLES (Partisan Records)
Jorja Smith (FAMM)
SOPHIE (Transgressive)

International Breakthrough of the Year – in association with Deezer
Cigarettes After Sex (Partisan Records)
Confidence Man (Heavenly Recordings)
Moses Sumney (Jagjaguar)
Phoebe Bridgers (Dead Oceans)
Zeal & Ardor MVKA)

Best Live Act – in association with Songkick
Cassia (Distiller Records)
DMA’s (Infectious Music)
Erasure (Mute Records)
IDLES (Partisan Records)
Steps (Absolute Label Services)

Hardest Working Group or Artist
DAWN (Dawn Richard) (Our Dawn Entertainment)
IDLES (Partisan Records)
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard (Heavenly Recordings)
Mogwai (Rock Action Records)
Tom Misch (Beyond The Groove)

Best Creative Packaging – in association with MCPS
Black Sabbath – The Ten Year War (BMG)
Fela Kuti – Box Set #4 Curated By Erykah Badu (Partisan Records)
Hüskur Dü – Savage Young Dü (Numero Group)
Oneohtrix Point Never – Age Of (Warp Records)
Wishbone Ash – The Vintage Years 1970-1991 (Snapper Music)

Independent Label of the Year – in association with Believe
Brownswood Recordings
Ninja Tune
Dirty Hit
Dead Oceans

Best Small Label – in association with Awesome Merchandise
Black Acre Records
Rocket Recordings
Rock Action Records
On the Corner Records

Indie Champion Award – in association with [PIAS]
Femi Adeyemi – Founder of NTS Radio

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act
Camelphat & Elderbook (Defected)
Dave (Dave)
Hardy Caprio (A2!)
Jorja Smith (FAMM)
Yxng Bane (Disturbing London)

Independent Video of the Year – in association with Vevo
IDLES – Colossus (Partisan Records) / Directed by Will Hooper
Leon Vynehall – Movements (Chapter III) (Ninja Tune) / Directed by Young Replicant
Moses Sumney – Doomed (Jagjaguar) / Directed by Allie Avital
Novo Amor – Birthplace (AllPoints) / Directed by Sil van der Woerd & Jorik Dozy
Superorganism – Everybody Want to Be Famous (Domino Records) / Directed by Robert Strangers

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Atlanta mathcore band The Callous Daoboys have released a new EP teaser, 'Pushing The Pink Envelope'
Drug Store Romeos, Lucinda Chua and more have joined the line-up for London festival Mirrors
Bastille have released a video for their 'Pompeii' collaboration with composer Hans Zimmer