Wolf Alice return with comeback track ‘The Last Man On Earth’, new album ‘Blue Weekend’

The band's much-anticipated third album will be released this June. Check out the first taster now.
Photo credit: Jordan Hemingway

Wolf Alice are back, with a brand new song and news of their third album.

After a week or so of teasing, the band have debuted their comeback track ‘The Last Man On Earth’, which you can check out below. It’s the first taster of their forthcoming full-length ‘Blue Weekend’.

Speaking about ‘The Last Man On Earth’, singer and guitarist Ellie Rowsell explains: “It’s about the arrogance of humans. I’d just read Kurt Vonnegut’s Cat’s Cradle and I had written the line ‘Peculiar travel suggestions are dancing lessons from god’ in my notes. But then I thought: ‘Uh, your peculiar travel suggestion isn’t a dancing lesson from god, it’s just a travel suggestion! Why does everything need to mean something more?’” 

A show-stopping return for one of the UK’s most special bands, you can read our first thoughts on ‘The Last Man On Earth’ here.

Decamping to a Somerset Airbnb after finishing up on their live commitments for previous Mercury Prize-winning album ‘Visions of a Life’, a press release reveals the band began work on some demos in a converted church.

“We didn’t have a filter on any ideas,” says bassist Theo Ellis in a biography that accompanies news of the album. “Any idea was a good idea at that point. And we did everything really haphazardly, but it was just about getting it working again, having a place to convene, getting ourselves into that atmosphere.”

“When we stopped touring,” recalls Ellie, “I thought ‘Fuck, I haven’t written any songs…’”

“I didn’t realise I had written them,” she continues. “Just because I didn’t know what was good anymore. It had been so long since we had written new songs together that I was afraid to show anyone, and for them to say ‘These suck! You can’t write songs anymore!’

Described by guitarist Joff Oddie as “the best songs Ellie’s ever written”, those demos evolved into what has become ‘Blue Weekend’, which is set for release on 11th June via Dirty Hit.

A Jordan Hemingway directed video for ‘The Last Man on Earth’ is set to debut at 7pm GMT. You can find the tracklist and artwork for ‘Blue Weekend’ after the jump.

‘Blue Weekend’ tracklisting
1. The Beach
2. Delicious Things 
3. Lipstick On The Glass
4. Smile 
5. Safe From Heartbreak (if you never fall in love) 
6. How Can I Make It OK?
7. Play The Greatest Hits 
8. Feeling Myself 
9. The Last Man On Earth 
10. No Hard Feelings 
11. The Beach II

  • cover
    Dork Radio
Paris Texas have released a new 35-minute live performance and interview video, 'Live From Mars'
beabadoobee has released a new album, 'Live In London', recorded at Brixton Academy
Olivia Dean has released a new EP, 'Ladies Room'